Geologic Heritage National Monuments and Antiquities Act

Presidents Monument The Antiquities Act of 1906 led to the preservation of many of the country's most cherished places. The Act grants the President of the United States the authority to recognize and protect significant places by designating them as national monuments. President Theodore Roosevelt designated Devil's Tower in Wyoming as the first national monument on September 24, 1906. Since then 122 other sites of natural or cultural significance have been preserved by presidential proclamation. The National Park Service maintains 93 of the monuments created by presidents under the Antiquities Act, while others are administered by the Bureau of Land Management, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the U.S. Forest Service, or local jurisdictions.

Staying warm is the new cool with the Snow Pile jacket from Patagonia. Designed specifically to help your toddler combat...
Price subject to change | Available through
Featured Park
Two deserts, two large ecosystems whose characteristics are determined primarily by elevation, come together at Joshua Tree National Park. The Colorado Desert encompasses the eastern part of the park and features natural gardens of creosote bush...
Featured Wildlife
Maine ocean islands provide the only nesting sites for Atlantic puffins in the United States. Eastern Egg Rock in the midcoast region, Seal Island and Matinicus Rock at the mouth of Penobscot Bay, and Machias Seal Island and Petit Manan Island off the downeast coast provide habitat for more than 4,000 puffins each summer.